Oh My! The Progression of Multiplication

Well, I’ve watched this video three times now and I think I need to watch it at least five more times. I love, love, love how this presented to the audience.

 

My take aways for when I am teaching multiplication:

  1. I need to stop stealing the opportunity to let my students use concrete tools! They should be available every SINGLE DAY.
  2. Rushing to the traditional algorithm is a huge mistake. I am thinking we need to have some serious conversations about when to introduce this.
  3. I need to let the students explore. Let me say that one again, I need to let the students EXPLORE. So many times when they hit a struggling point I feel this need to jump in and tell…I need a muzzle for my mouth!

What did you take away from this?

2 thoughts on “Oh My! The Progression of Multiplication

  1. Pingback: Oh My! The Progression of Multiplication | Georgina Ang

  2. Loved this blog post. I’m a homeschool mom and math tutor. I’ve found that my kids do so much better when they have lots and lots of time to explore the concepts. If they are allowed to explore and gently coached, they will want to talk about multiplication as repeated addition because saying, “2+2+2+2+2+2+2” when describing their own work becomes incredibly tedious. 2(7) is then intuitively understood.

Leave a Reply

